Scholarship Winners 2020

Supporting College Goals

In recent years, only 50% of Affton graduates attended a two-year college and 25% enrolled in four-year schools, choices often made due to economic realities. The Affton Education Foundation serves to inspire students to attend the college of their first choice where they can achieve their educational goals.

The Foundation awards up to six $2,500 renewable college scholarships to qualifying Affton High graduates each year, funding them from gifts and income from the Foundation endowment fund. Principally through a 5 year matching challenge grant from William (’63) and Nancy (’65) Thompson, the Foundation’s endowment fund has now grown to in excess of $1.7 million. In addition to these scholarships, the Foundation also awards two full tuition, four-year scholarships funded by separate alumni endowments: The Coach Don Kuhn Endowed Scholarship to Westminster College, funded by Kent (’58) and Judy (Laudenslager - '61) Mueller and the Rickli Family Endowed Scholarship to Truman Sate University, funded in honor of Miss Doris Ahrens by Kenneth ('58) and Cathy Rickli.

In 2013, the Jim Hoots Memorial Scholarship was established to provide college scholarship funds to a student who has displayed outstanding leadership, dedication and sportsmanship while participating in an Affton High School sponsored athletic program. Funded by the family and friends of Jim Hoots ('67), the scholarship awards $2,500, renewable for 3 years.

Since the fall of 2010, the Foundation has sponsored a series of overnight college campus visits for AHS students. Attended by Affton juniors and seniors, the trips serve to educate and inform students as to their various post-secondary options, as well as to provide an opportunity that many might not otherwise be able to experience. Meeting with students, professors and college presidents has been truly life-changing for these students.

To donate to any of the scholarship funds listed above, click on the “Donate Now” button on the right hand side. Thank you for your generosity to our Affton students!

Affton Education Foundation Scholarship

For the thirteenth time, the Affton Education Foundation awarded renewable $2,500 scholarships to be used for attendance at a four-year college or university. The five 2020 AEF scholarship recipients are:

Grace Brentlinger
Clayton Capriglione
Caroline Daughtry
Drew Missler
Almira Mulaomerovic
Lanie Pointer
Joshua Shannon
Mia Silvestros
Amina Suljagic

The Rickli Family Endowed Scholarship to Truman State University in Kirksville, MO

Savannah Hargett

The Rickli Family Endowed Scholarship, funded by Ken and Kathy Rickli and dedicated to Doris Ahrens, provides a renewable, full tuition scholarship to Truman State University. The 2020 recipient is:

Savannah Hargett

The Coach Don Kuhn Endowed Scholarship to Westminster College in Fulton, MO

Megan Davidson

Megan Davidson is the 2020 recipient of the Coach Don Kuhn Endowed Scholarship. Generously funded by Kent and Judith Mueller ’58, it provides a renewable, full tuition scholarship to Westminster College.

Megan Davidson

Jim Hoots Memorial Scholarship

 Lynn Eckhardt

The Jim Hoots Memorial Scholarship has been established to provide college funds for Affton scholar athletes. The 2020 Hoots Scholarship recipient is:

Lynn Eckhardt

The Art Hill Dedication Scholarship

 Alaina McAlister

The Art Hill Dedication Scholarship, established in 2019, honors longtime AHS Coach Art Hill. Each year it provides a $2,500 renewable scholarship to an Affton scholar athlete. The 2020 recipient is:

Alaina McAlister

Affton Alumni Association Scholarship

Fahima Band-Ali

Fahima Band-Ali won the 2020 Affton Alumni Association Scholarship which provides $1,000 towards college tuition.

Fahima Band-Ali

Washington University of Saint Louis High School Summer Scholar Program

Sarah Dunivan

Robert Messey ‘64 and Kurt Jaeger ‘79 provide funding for an Affton junior to attend the Wash U High School Summer Scholar Program. The 2020 recipient was Sarah Dunivan.

Sarah Dunivan
View Scholarship winners: